How do you grow bamboo in animal crossing?

To plant bamboo, the player must equip a shovel and plant them similar to trees. After three days, the bamboo shoot will mature into a bamboo stalk. Once fully grown, bamboo will produce shoots as cracks which can be dug up with the shovel.