What is d. e. stand for?

D E, is an acronym for Diatomaceous Earth. It consists of the fossilized remains of tiny aquatic organisms called diatoms, made of a natural substance called silica. It is used in various products as an ingredient and during manufacturing. It is also commonly used in swimming pool filters.