Why is the democratic symbol a donkey?

During the 1828 presidential race, opponents of Andrew Jackson called him a - bad word for a donkey. Jackson was amused and included an image of the animal in his campaign posters. Political cartoonist Thomas Nast later helped popularize the donkey as a symbol for the entire Democratic Party.