Why did apollo thirteen fail?

The Apollo 13 explosion was a result of faulty electrical wiring, which lowered the crew's supply of oxygen. The crew devised a workaround for their oxygen supply based on instructions from mission controllers, who had an inventory of materials onboard the ship that could be used for the fix.