Where did boiled peanuts originate?

Most likely in Africa. The practice of boiling peanuts didn't cross over to white cooks for several generations. Then, just after the turn of the 20th century, boiled peanuts began popping up on the society pages of South Carolina newspapers & spread to peanut-growing regions of Georgia & Florida