What happened to opie's mom on the andy griffith show?

In the pilot episode on The Danny Thomas Show, Andy lost Opie's mother when he was "the least little speck of a baby." Opie, whose turtle died when someone stepped on it, asked "Who stepped on Ma?" Andy was referred to as a widower several times indicating that Opie's mother died and did not leave.