Are there different varieties of bananas?

Yes there are. Grown in more than 150 countries, it is widely believed there are more than 1,000 types of bananas in the world, which are subdivided into 50 groups. The most common is the Cavendish, the one most frequently produced for export markets.

---

Yes, there are a great many varieties of bananas, some of which are edible and others of which are inedible.