Do fish need water?

Yes, fish require water to breathe. This is because the gill arches of fish collapse when taken out of water, leaving the blood vessels no longer exposed to oxygen in air. In addition, saltwater fish need to purposefully drink water, where freshwater fish do not.

---

Fish do consume water and need it to survive just as humans do.