What is the purpose of a walk?

To get exercise & fresh air, see the outside world, possibly meet new people & pets as opposed to being cooped up inside. The exercise is for your heart, weight & muscles as well as your brain, all of which your doctor will appreciate your doing as it's good for your overall health.