What's the history of boston creampie?

The Parker House Hotel claims to have served Boston cream pies since their opening in 1856. French chef Sanzian, who was hired for the opening of the hotel, is credited with creating Boston cream pie. The Boston Cream Pie was proclaimed the official Massachusetts State Dessert on December 12, 1996