What does uncode mean?

Unicode is the latest attempt to encode characters in a binary computer. Earlier coding sequences were ASCII or EBCDIC, but they were limited to at most 256 distinct characters. Unicode is a 16-bit character code which has over 65000 possible characters, as such many more characters may be used.