Why is it called german chocolate cake?

German chocolate cake, originally German's chocolate cake, owes its name to an English-American chocolate maker named Samuel German, who developed a formulation of dark baking chocolate in 1852 that came to be used in the cake recipe created by a Dallas, Texas homemaker in 1957.