What is the largest octopus ever found?

The largest know specimen of a Giant Pacific Octopus measured 30 feet in length and weighed 600 pounds. It was found washed ashore on the coast of British Columbia, Canada. Mind you, the average size of documented specimens of this species is 17 feet in length with a weight of 150 to 175 pounds.