Who is the fastest distance runner?

Without doubt, it is Usain Bolt of Jamaica. On Sunday 16 August 2009, 23- years-old Usain Bolt from Jamaica became the fastest runner in the world when he ran 100 metres in a world record time of 9.58 seconds.