What is eighteen slash eight stainless steel?

Grade 18/8 steel is made of 18% chromium and 8% nickel, which is added to about 0.8% carbon and roughly 50% iron. The term 18/8 comes from listing the chromium amount as the first number and the nickel amount as the second.