What does a synchronous day mean?

Events are called 'synchronous' when they occur at the same time. In 2020, during virtual learning, the time students spend online with teachers is called 'synchronous' time. Time spent working is called 'asynchronous' time. A synchronous day is a day spent engaged in virtual instruction.