Where to find diamonds in minecraft?

Diamond Ore only appears between layers 1-16, but it is most abundant on layer 12. To check what layer you're on, check the Y value on your map (F3 on PC) (FN + F3 on Mac). It can be found in veins as large as 8 blocks of Ore. Lava frequently appears between layers 4-10.