How do you clean basketball shoes?

If you place a high value on keeping your basketball shoes looking like new, clean them after every wear. The only exception is if your shoes have an absorbent material like canvas, mesh, or suede. In this case, let caked on mud dry so that you can brush the dirt off with a stiff brush.