What is the esophagus test?

What is the esophagus test? Esophageal manometry (muh-NOM-uh-tree) is a test that shows whether your esophagus is working properly. The esophagus is a long, muscular tube that connects your throat to your stomach. When you swallow, your esophagus contracts and pushes food.