What's the definition of dismayed?

Dismayed, is the past tense of dismay, which is a strong feeling of distress, fear, worry, or sadness that is caused by something unpleasant and unexpected. When someone is dismayed they are feeling emotions of unhappiness, disappointment, worry, shock & surprise.