What is sally a nickname for?

Sally is a name with Celtic origins meaning to go. During the civil war, Sallyports were houses with one wall loosened so that troops could gather behind them and sally forth when the wall was knocked down. Now prisons use them for the transfer of prisoners from vehicles to the facility.