What's the sourest thing on the planet?

Sour taste buds are activated by acidity - therefor, the most sour foods are actually the most acidic. The most acidic foods are lemon and lime juice, which can have a pH as low as 2.0. The pH of citric acid - the coating for most sour candies (including Warheads and Toxic Waste) - is 2.2.