How strong can a shark bite?

Computer models suggest that the maximum bite force for a large shark would be 18,000 Newtons, but this hasn't been measured on a living shark. Sharks have very sharp teeth and rely on slicing and head-shaking to rip off chunks of flesh, so they don't need to bite down with their full force.