What is caitlin's law?

In 2001,the Governor of California signed into law Kaitlyn's Law. Named for Kaitlyn Russell, a six-month old who died after being left alone in a parked car for more than two hours. The law makes it illegal for a child to be left unattended in a motor vehicle.