How do you ripen a cut cantaloupe?

Cantaloupe will not ripen after it has been cut open, so if you cut open your melon and discover that it is still unripe, there is nothing you can do to salvage it. As such, you must be very certain that the cantaloupe is ripe before cutting into it.