What is the phonetic difference between a vowel and a consonant?

Vowels and consonants have different sounds made with differing configurations of the mouth and throat. Sounds for vowels are made with the mouth and throat open, while consonants are made by blocking air with the lips, teeth, tongue, or throat, for example.