Why do they call french fries french fries?

American soldiers stationed in Belgium were first introduced to French fries during World War I. The official language of the Belgian army was French, so American soldiers called the fried potatoes “French fries", but Belgian fries would have been more accurate.

---

French fries are potatoes that have been frenched before frying. When you french a vegetable, you cut it in long, thin strips so that the vegetable will cook evenly.