What is a santoku knife?

According to Wikipedia, The San toku bō chō, or Bun ka bō chō is a general-purpose kitchen knife originating in Japan. Its blade is typically between 13 and 20 cm long, and has a flat edge and a sheepsfoot blade that curves down an angle approaching 60 degrees at the point.