Who was the tenth man?

The Tenth Man is a film based on the novel by Graham Greene. It is a story of a French advocate Chavel (Sir Anthony Hopkins), who, while imprisoned by the Germans during the occupation, trades his material possessions to another prisoner in exchange for his life when condemned to the firing squad.