Who was mrs. maisel?

Miriam “Midge” Maisel (played by Rachel Brosnahan) is a housewife who stumbles upon a career in stand-up comedy after her husband, Joel (actor Michael Zegen), leaves her for his secretary in late 1950s and early 1960s New York City.