Do neutral objects have static electricity?

Charged objects have an imbalance of charge-either more negative electrons than positive protons or vice versa. And neutral objects have a balance of charge-equal numbers of protons and electrons. When it comes to the drama of static electricity, electrons and protons become the main characters.