Can you cut elastic and half?

According to sewing websites, cutting elastic in half lengthwise almost always makes the elastic fray and or lose integrity.

---

according to pattern review dot com,Some elastic can be cut. One way you might check is pull the elastic taught and sort of look through it. If you can see regular, squarish little dots of light through the stretched elastic you might be able to cut it safely.