What is the difference between tnt and dynamite?

TNT is trinitrotoluene, a chemical compound that is stable and shock resistant. Dynamite is made by allowing sawdust to soak up nitroglycerin which is a highly unstable compound easily subject to detonation. The sawdust acts as a buffer making the nitro safe to handle.