What are the ingredients in liquid smoke?

Liquid smoke is made from actual smoke. Chips or sawdust, from hardwoods such as hickory or mesquite, are burned at high temperatures, and particles of the smoke are collected in liquid condensers. Some brands of liquid smoke will also contain molasses, vinegar, caramel color, and salt.