Are pit bulls mean?

Absolutely not. There's no such thing as a bad dog, just bad owners. Aggression towards humans is very abnormal for pit bulls are not naturally or inherently aggressive." The ASPCA adds that "even those pit bulls bred to fight other animals were not prone to aggressiveness toward people."