Does the moon have a face?

Many of us see a man in the moon -- a human face smiling down at us from the lunar surface. The "face," of course, is just an illusion, shaped by the dark splotches of lunar maria (smooth plains formed from the lava of ancient volcanic eruptions)

---

The moon's near side is covered with dark splotches of lunar maria that look like a man's face when seen from Earth.