Is the k. k. k. still around?

Yes. Although it is less active than other white supremacy hate groups in recent years, the Ku Klux Klan has a long heritage in the United States that continues to this day. Its history of violence, number of victims, and widespread familial structure are some reasons the SPLC monitors it closely.