How do you prepare jelly before cooking?

For jelly, always make 1 recipe at a time - no doubling. Sterilize your jars & wash the fruits. Remove stems, seeds, pits, & crush the fruit. In a heavy stockpot, add the fruit and the exact amount of water in the recipe. Cover & bring to a rapid boil, then lower the heat and cover loosely.