Why do they called quarterback?

Their are four eligible running backs associated with the backfield in American football without designation of eligibility requirements to the referees. The pass wasn't introduced until later, as it was primarily running. 1/4 (quarter), 1/2 (half), 3/4 (Wing), and 4/4 (Full). The 4 horsemen