What makes a magnet stick to metal?

Magnets only adhere to ferromagnetic materials, including some metals like iron and steel. Non-ferromagnetic metals include, copper, zinc and tin.

---

Steel is a metal that magnets stick to because iron can be found inside steel. However, stainless steels comprise of a large group of steel alloys that are made of different metal compositions. While some have more chromium, some might have more iron in them.