What is dirt made of?

Soil is a mixture of mineral and organic ingredients with a definite form, structure, and composition. The exact composition of soil changes between locations. The following is the average composition by volume of soil ingredients: 45% minerals, 25% water, 25% air, 5% organic matter or humus