Why do indians wear dots on their head?

The mark is known as a bindi. And it's a Hindu tradition that dates to the third and fourth centuries. The bindi is traditionally worn by women for religious purposes or to indicate that they're married. But today the bindi has also become popular among women of all ages, as a beauty mark.