What is a neutral zone in fraction in football?

In American football, a neutral zone infraction is an infraction in which a football player, on defense, gets into or crosses the neutral zone during the snap, causing an offensive player to false start. The penalty is against the defense, not the offense. It is a 5 yard penalty.