What is an elder bug?

A bug that stays alive longer than the younger bugs

---

What is an elder bug? The boxelder bug is a North American species of bug. It is found primarily on boxelder trees, as well as maple and ash trees. The adults are about 0.51" long with a dark brown or black coloration, relieved by red wing veins and markings on the abdomen; nymphs are bright red