What is a scones?

A scone is a pastry, a basic component of the cream tea, popular in the British Isles, usually made of either wheat or oatmeal, with baking powder as a leavening agent, and baked on sheet pans. It can be slightly sweetened, occasionally glazed with egg wash. It is similar to the American biscuit.