What was the purpose of the post world war 2 war crimes trials?

The Nuremburg War Crimes trials served two purposes. First and most immediately, to punish the Nazi leadership for committing atrocities as part of the holocaust and their general conduct of the war. Second, to set a precedent as a deterrent for any potential future perpetrators of similar acts.