How often do you water a fig tree?

Although the watering needs of a fig tree depend largely on the soil and the weather, a fig tree needs 1.5 inches of water each week, either from irrigation or rain. Keep the soil around your fig tree moist but not soaked. Test the soil moisture by digging down at least 2 inches.