Why does the carnotaurus have horns?

Its distinctive horns are thought to have been used by males to fight one another. The dinosaurs would have literally butted heads when competing for territory or to impress females. Like many other large theropods, Carnotaurus were carnivores and so had the sharp teeth to match.