How many ants are in an ant colony?

The colony was estimated to contain 306 million worker ants and one million queen ants living in 45,000 nests interconnected by underground passages over an area of 2.7 km2 (670 acres).

---

Ants colony sizes are very different in different ant species: some are just several ants living in a twig, while others are super colonies with many millions of workers.