What is a ventricle?

A ventricle is a hollow part, or cavity, in an organ. Examples are the two in the heart, a left and right, and the four connected fluid-filled cavities in the center of the brain.

---

A chamber in the heart responsible for pumping blood to either the lungs, or the body, depending on which side of the heart the ventricle is on.